Come on, Pat Haden

………………………………..

Let me get this out the way. I hate Steve Sarkisian. I hated him at USC when he was calling plays with Lane Kiffin. I hated him even more when he was calling the offensive plays by himself. In fact, you know the game that made me hate him more than a person should hate someone? Oregon State in 2008. USC’s offense looked like it’s never played football in the first half. Then, all of the sudden, Sark actually let Mark Sanchez (Pre butt fumble) throw the ball around to get back in the game, then went back to that conservative gameplan. When Sark took an interview and got the UW job in late 2008, I was HYPED and said, “I’ll never have to deal with this dude ever again at USC.”

5 years later, and now I probably have to deal with this dude. Steve Sarkisian is a bad hire. Awful hire for USC. I don’t care like, how people want to spin it. He couldn’t win at Washington. He had his best team in years, and what did he do with his own players? Win 8 games. I get how the Pac-12 North is tough. I get how UW had to rebuild from a program that was 0-12, but you know what? UW has NFL players on its roster, and he recruited better than most. But Sark was being talked about being fired if they didn’t get over the 7 win hump. He wins 8 games and suddenly, he’s a “USC” type of coach? Lol, Pat Haden what?

Oh, that’s just Lane Kiffin and Sark together

Lane Kiffin is thing 1. Hired by former AD Mike Garrett because he wanted to keep recruits at USC, and came off a 7 win season at Tennessee. Steve Sarkisian is thing 2. Hired by Haden after a 8 win season and probably to keep recruits after USC got embarrassed by UCLA on Saturday night. Kiffin and Sark are similar in so many ways except Sark is “likable” by the national media more than Kiffin (for now). I’m trying to figure out what Pat Haden saw in Sarkisian. Was it his wife? Was it the fact that he had USC ties? Was it because UW somewhat improved even though he’s an average coach and not a motivator? What was it? How is this…….. good for the USC program? When Kevin Sumlin took his name out of the race, did Haden really panic? Or when Chris Petersen took his name out, did he just say, “well you know what, Sark really wants it, let’s just give it to him?” Why not let Coach O just test drive the program since the Coli looked like it was back in the Carroll days?

It’s as simple as this:

Pat Haden, like why, dude? Did you fall asleep at the wheel? Not only did you hire Sark, Coach O is gone forever and was “outraged” that he couldn’t get an opportunity, and honestly, even though USC lost to UCLA and was flat as hell during that game, Orgeron won 6 games in conference in a season. Sark didn’t do that at UW in the 5 years he was there. If you didn’t want to hire Coach O, fine. I get that. But Sark? Lol Sark?

I thought we were homies,  Mr. Haden. After this, I gotta play Nothing Was the Same because this is embarrassing.  I feel personally offended that Sark was hired at my favorite team to the point where I don’t even know if I want to be a fan anymore(I’ll probably be a fan but this stinks, man). That’s how real it is. This is a hurtful day in the Shaun Howard life. I don’t deserve this, God. All I wanted was to get out of the Pete Carroll era, and sadly, we’ll never do that. This could have been anybody other than Sark. James Franklin (Not the Mizzou QB) was a better option. Jack Del Rio was a better option. Instead, Haden hires another Kiffin type probably to save recruits. Like, go back to calling Notre Dame games, Haden. Our friendship is ~over~ (I sounded like a teenage girl with that. Blame iTunes, bruh).

Hopefully it works out and I hope I’m wrong. But this looks like RIP to the USC Program for little bit longer than we all expected. So thanks a lot Pat Haden!

USC could have done so much better but instead, it’s gonna be so bad for the next 3-5 years. We’re just going in the direction Notre Dame did.  *sigh*

Fight on, but…….. yeah. College bball blog tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

