Kanye and Wayne are the same?

This is so contradicting in so many ways

I’m gonna be honest here. I don’t really much about music other than I can tell you what’s pretty good, and what’s pretty bad. In fact, my music opinions can sit and cause riots because folks think I’m completely crazy. On Twitter, since I was born in the early 1990s, my musical opinions don’t really matter. But this is my blog, therefore my opinion will ALWAYS matter, and yours will too. The picture at the beginning of this blog saddens me. It really does. I never thought it’d come to this point in my life where I’d have to dismiss both of these artists completely from my life. Before I say why, let me give you background information.

See that guy on the left? Kanye West used to be one of my favorite rappers ever. I remember when I first heard The College Dropout. 6th grade seems like a long time ago, but that album had something that was different than any other album that I’ve ever heard. At the time, I didn’t really know who Kanye was, but I loved his lyrical flow and the production. His album was different than any other album that dropped, and I instantly became a fan. My 2nd favorite song that Ye dropped ever in his career is “Family Business.” That song is a ghetto version of my family, and it’s crazy to listen to.  Then around Summer 2005, West dropped his best album IMO, Late Registration. Late Registration was a classic, and it’s crazy how we all listened to it at lunch, after school, before basketball practice, and even just walking home. Kanye was on top. According to some, he still is. But it’s not the same.  West dropped his best album in 2005, and to me, he hasn’t been the same on the rest of his albums.

I was once a fan of Lil Wayne. No seriously. I was. Back around the Carter II which came out while I was in 7th grade, dropped, one of my best friends Adam Contreras was rapping a song that was unknown to me. That song was Fireman. I became a big Wayne fan. In fact, one of my favorite songs of all-time is a Wayne song. Wayne at one point to me was probably my favorite rapper.  But, weirdly, after Wayne dropped the Carter III, I kinda didn’t know what to expect from him anymore. I felt slightly betrayed that his album, which was dope production wise, lacked lyrical content.

These two guys, who were at the top of their careers seem to lack the drive that they had once before they were mainstream. Once mainstream, both of these guys went… crazy. When I listen to Lil Wayne rap now, my ears bleed. When I hear Kanye West rap now, I want to donate my ears to a deaf person and never hear anything ever again. Wanna know why? Because these two artists, who come from different backgrounds are the same damn person.

That’s not a typo.

Kanye West and Dwayne Carter are past their primes when it comes to rappers. I always get in debates (I try to avoid them because nobody wins) because I say both of these guys aren’t that good as what they used to be.  Kanye West and Lil Wayne hold these “rants” because for the first time in their life, they aren’t the main attention when it comes to music. Both of them used to be “The Man” on their respective labels, but now attention has shifted to various artists. Big Sean (Like him or not), and Pusha T are probably getting more attention than West, while Drake has taken all the attention away from Wayne. It’s quite simple and obvious. Both of these artists act the way they do for attention, and it’s pathetic. The music that both artists put out are laced with horrible bars, great production, and sadly, they are the same in the way they conduct themselves in public.

Here’s one example on how they are similar.

Man, WTF

Kanye West has been clamoring for attention for awhile. It’s funny to me how I used to be one of those fans and defend every little “attention cry” he had. Now, I look at it and laugh at it. West is 2 months away from having a mental breakdown. West’s latest “rant” has caused a stir around the music world. It caused a stir to me because I found it interesting how many times West was being contradicting towards himself. Let me sum up this rant with some quotes from it. It was literally a 6 minute rant of him saying some things over and over, but I pulled some of the better quotes from it.

West begins this rant by talking about business people, and how music should be an artform. Fair enough. Even though his production on his last solo studio album was “art,” the lyrics were not. West seemed very upset about how the music business was. Once again, that’s fair enough. He’s been in the business since the early 2000’s, I presume. Here’s one of his most interesting quotes:

Since when was making art about getting rich? And I know it’s easy for me to say this. And having money’s not everything. And having it is.

Wait a minute, Kanye. Most musicians make music as art, and before you know it,  happen to get rich. Eventually, if you’re recording, I would assume you would want a shot at a recording deal, right? Simply put it, this is a contradiction. If money isn’t everything, then why are you with Kim Kardashian, then? Remember Kanye? She made a sex tape to not only make money, but eventually profited from it? Some people think sex is art (I’m not making this up), and even though she was terrible in that tape (I’ve seen pictures of her faces due to Twitter), I think that’s called getting a payday.

In his “hit” song titled “Way Too Cold,” West asks this question:

Can’t a young nigga get money anymore?
Tell PETA my mink is dragging on the floor
Can I have a bad bitch without no flaws
Come to meet me without no drawers?

If having money isn’t everything, then why would you ask about getting more money, and brag about your mink on the floor? That’s not art, Kanye. That’s simply bragging about your money then, bragging about attempting to meet a bad bitch who has no flaws, and then having her meet you with no drawers on. That’s art, Kanye?

West then asks the crowd why the Grammys can suck his dick. Very funny, but I think Kim might find that very sad that you said someone else could suck it (that wasn’t funny, was it?). West has 21 Grammys. Earlier this year, he ranted about how he’s never won a Grammy when put a white person. Kanye, get over yourself man. Your fanbase was celebrating how you won 3 grammys this year. I think you can settle down when it comes to that.

The funniest quote came here:

Remind me again who’s the original Superfly? I got love for Hov, but I aint fucking with that Suit & Tie.

I’m not sure where the whole Superfly thing comes in, but after doing a Google search, it brought up a film that had Curtis Mayfield performing it, and it’s about a cocaine dealer who’s trying to quit the underground drug business. The next line is interesting. We all know he has love for Hov as they just made an average album together in 2011 titled “Watch The Throne” and went on tour together. I’m not sure if he’s throwing shade at Justin Timberlake, or at Jay-Z’s sleepy verse. I took it as two ways: Kanye is jealous that Jay-Z is going on tour with Justin Timberlake this summer, or that he doesn’t actually mess with wearing suits and ties anymore.

See man

West at this point has the crowd going nuts. Some are in awe, some are laughing, some are shocked. That’s my view of it. He then asks why every rapper brags about sleeping with someone else and keeps asking why we are in this shit. Kanye, Kanye, Kanye. I’ll give him this one, even though he was going to release a song titled “Perfect Bitch” which could have him bragging about him sleeping with Kim Kardashian. Hey man, go ahead and cook. I guess.

West then states that he doesn’t give a damn about anyone. Well duh, Kanye. We all know that you don’t care about anybody’s opinion on you. You obviously don’t have to state that twice. Any man who can wear a kilt and attempt to make it less fruity, I give you 100% props. It was weird how he mentioned how he lost his mom in the middle of this rant. The screaming and yelling of it means that Kanye misses that guidance in his life. You can tell.

He then goes on something that’s so epic, that I can’t even take out snippets of what he says.

So, you gonna help me put on a better show, corporations? Can you please support me? Please? Me, Kanye West. I swear I’m a nice leader now. I swear I’ll put the pink polo back on. I swear to you. Please. Just for three million dollars. I need it so bad. I need a pool in my backyard! So I’ll tell all my fans your shit is cool. And if they believe in me, then they’ll also believe in you.

When I remember Kanye West, he wasn’t wearing kilts. He really was wearing dope polos. I think we all get it Kanye. You don’t need the money from corporations. The funny thing to me is how he’s talking about corporations like he’s not signed with Nike for his shoes titled “Air Yeezy.” I mean, Nike is a corporation and they are cutting you a check. You have people saying that your shoes are cool, meaning that more people believe in Nike, which means all the people believed you. See where I’m going with this? I guess you do need the pool in your backyard since you’re about to live in California with Kim and your soon to be daughter. Boy I tell ya, Kanye.

The last part of this rant signifies Kanye West to me. Kanye asks the crowd about people are over the Taylor Swift innocent and if his public rating is good enough so that corporations can give him money. You talk about a 6 minute rant summed up in like 45 minutes of writing and 3 minutes of reading most likely. Kanye has lost his damn mind right now. Kanye West, a businessman himself (I was told on Sunday Morning during a church service by one of my friends that Kanye has his own clothing line) talks about corporations and businessmen in suits and ties like he’s not a materialistic rapper himself.

West’s rant says everything about the person he’s become. To me, West knows that nobody is really paying attention to him anymore and that if he acts out (He did act out, don’t give me that), he’ll get all the attention because most people are paying attention to Kim. I bet to some Americans, he’s not even known as Kanye West. He’s simply known as Kim K’s baby’s daddy. West can simply hate on the music business, fine. If you hate it soooooooooooo much Kanye, get out of it. Nobody is really stopping you at this point. Unless you just make it for the money like other niggas do, such as your claim.

see you in my nightmaressssssssssssss *autotune voice*

Wayne’s rant came a bit differently to me. His rant came last weekend at NBA All-Star Weekend where he had some interesting things to say about the NBA, Lebron James, Dwyane Wade, Chris Bosh and his wife.

First and foremost, when it comes to sports teams, Lil Wayne is one of the biggest bandwagoners I’ve ever seen. Wayne has rooted for all 32 NBA teams at some point in his life. Wayne claims to be a Packers fan, but I’m pretty sure he jumped on the Baltimore Ravens bandwagon this year once they were up 28-6 early in the 3rd quarter of the Super Bowl. That’s just who he is.

Wayne is having a call and response with the crowd which is funny as hell to me to begin with. This little 5’6 dude had to come out during a Baby concert (I didn’t know Baby made music still, to be honest) and do what he does best: Grab attention from him, and make everything about him. He first says this:

The NBA has banned me from all NBA events because the Miami Heat has told them to ban me.

The NBA has said that’s not true, but boy I tell ya. I wish it was. Lil Wayne claims to be thrown out of the Miami Heat/Los Angeles Lakers game by Heat staff because he was most likely rooting for his favorite (times 32) team ever, the Los Angeles Lakers. This isn’t the first time Wayne has had a spat with the NBA or NBA players. If you recall last year, Wayne was very upset that Lebron James and Dwyane Wade wouldn’t give him dap during the game. Very very puzzling.

Wayne then goes on this mini rant and states this all:

F the NBA. F Lebron. F Shewade, F Chris Bosh. F all them niggas. *takes 5 second pause* Oh, I F’d Chris Bosh’s wife too.

Now, the Dwyane Wade nickname is funny. But why should we listen to you, Wayne? LeBron is the best player alive, so I’ll watch him. The NBA isn’t actually that half bad (Even though the Lakers are trash), and Chris Bosh is an all-star. I’m not gonna say anything about Chris Bosh’s wife and that accusation because I personally don’t give a care about it.  Wayne slept with Jenna Shea before she was even famous so there you have that one. If I were the NBA, I wouldn’t let this dude in to any games if he’s gonna whine and complain about how he can’t watch a game in Miami. Tell you what Wayne. I live in the Seattle area where they hasn’t been a pro basketball team here since 2008. You’re richer than me. Buy NBA League Pass and you can pretty much sit Courtside at your house watching the game.

What have we learned from all of this?

Their fashion taste are interesting to say the least

These two rappers, who we all thought were completely different are the same. Both of these rappers are money hungry and attention grabbing males because they’re past their prime as an artist. West and Wayne need to realize that these “rants” aren’t dope. Most of these rants are screaming for attention because nobody gives a damn about them anymore. As for me, I’m completely getting rid of these guys from my musical library. It’s a shame too. I never thought I’d see the day where I’d only keep two Kanye West albums, and one Wayne album, but it’s about that time. Maybe it’s because I’ve grown up and learned that these rants aren’t really that cool; equal they are embarrassing, and both of these guys are downright disgraceful to themselves.

One day, maybe both of these guys will look at themselves in the mirror and wonder if they made one too many rants to tune out people. If not, maybe both of their careers will be dead and forgotten before we’ve seen them at least improve on what they were.

If you have a comment, or disagree, or think that I’m a complete idiot,

leave one. I’ll respond.

– Shaun

One thought on “Kanye and Wayne are the same?

Leave a Reply

