Pre-Thanksgiving recap:

AHHHHH.

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving. The best time of the year due to football, basketball, and food. Thanksgiving is probably my favorite holiday (besides my birthday) because of the combination of all three of these things. As a hooper at heart, I can tell you that this week has been excellent. Well sort of.

I said last week that Carolina would lose in Maui on my facebook during the whole “fake outrage” stuff about what I said about Kentucky fans, which wasn’t even the point of my blog at all about Coach Cal and having his cop out for calling out Duke for flopping. But yes, Carolina lost in Maui, and well it wasn’t just a loss. They were embarrassed for about 27 minutes of his ballgame. I’m still stunned how Butler embarrassed my heels like that.

smfh

Butler was up 29 points at one point. 29. That’s not a typo, that’s a fact. I mean, credit Carolina for getting this down to 6 with like 1:30 left in the game, but you can’t go down 29 points in a game. You can’t start off a game flat, bored, and assuming a team will lay down for you because of what it says on the front of your jersey (I feel like I’ve written this so many times this year about the USC Trojans. Why won’t these teams come out of a game with effort, intensity, and be great for once? Let me relax before I become THAT fan that I’m not). Butler, granted is a great team with a great coach, but they weren’t 29 points better than Carolina. Their gameplan was excellent: be physical, make Carolina guard, and cut off the lane. As good as Carolina shoots from deep, you have to figure they won’t shoot well all the time. Pick your poison with them. Carolina’s best player James Michael McAdoo (JMM for short) played terrible. McAdoo seemed frustrated early, and just lost at times.  Reggie Bullock seemed passive, which isn’t good. Marcus Paige got tired quickly. Dexter Strickland is shooting too many jumpers, which is NOT his game, and Coach Roy gotta start the big boy in the middle in Joel James.  The silver lining is that this team fought back. It’s not like last year where most of them laid down and quit at Florida State. It started with PJ Hairston, who has seemly found himself this season. Hairston can hoop, and now I think he’s confident in himself now because he’s hitting jump shots. It started with defense, led by Brice Johnson, Leslie McDonald, and Hairston. It also started with them finally waking up and realizing that they are down 29 points. Hopefully these guys and coach Williams learn a valuable lesson: come with energy, and focus to begin the game, not in the last 13 minutes.

Notre Dame/USC this weekend. Notre Dame is #1 in the country and USC is unranked. If you had this back in August, I salute you. I figured Notre Dame would be good, but I didn’t figure this good. Freshman quarterback, great defense led by Manti Teo, and a coaching staff that has this program being relevant again. USC on the other hand………………..

SMH

Like I said on Saturday, this USC team is NOT a four loss team. If they lose this weekend, they aren’t even a five loss team. Coaching has been hilarious this season, and on Saturday, I’m curious to see what Kiffin will do. I have a lot of faith in Max Wittek though. A lot of faith. Max is 6’4, 245, and has a stronger arm than the homie of the blog, Matt Barkley. Put it like this, Max said this on ESPN Radio yesterday:

If he wants to air it out, let’s air it out,” Wittek said of Kiffin. “If he wants to pound it on the ground, let’s do that. I’m gonna go out there, I’m gonna play within myself, within the system, and we’re gonna win this ballgame.

Max Wittek has confidence, and I love it. Love love it. Wittek has nothing to lose, and is confident in himself, and this team. I expect Wittek to have a decent game, and having guys like Robert Woods and Marqise Lee should help out the cause. Notre Dame fans, here’s something you need to see:

Don’t let Max Wittek beat you. Please Notre Dame, don’t let it happen or you’ll be made fun of forever in this rivalry. You’re #1 in the land. Max’s first start. Don’t let Maxwell Wittek beat you down in the Coli. DONT LET IT HAPPEN.

Something random, some guy named Jack Taylor scored 138 points on 102 shots and 71 shots from three.

Yeah….. we aren’t celebrating that here.

Have a great thanksgiving, everyone.

 

 

Leave a Reply

