I’m fed up ESPN.

Before I get started on this, I have to say, I’m very mad at the Grantland site. All I want is for Grantland to be fair in their types of reporting, and their writing, but instead they took out the time to bash Lane Kiffin because he’s an easy target. Yeah, some things they said about Lane was true. But, he’s not the first coach to lose a game on the road. Grantland and their fantastic set of writers haven’t said a word about Bob Stoops not winning “big games” anymore, or the fact that Jimbo Fisher is basically Lane Kiffin of the East Coast. That’s frustrating to me, and a lot of people. If you’re gonna bash one coach, you have to bash the next one.

Dear ESPN-

Man, I remember when it you were credible. Like, back in the 1990’s, you were  a credible sports channel who was the “underdog” like Dan Patrick has stated, but now, I hate to say it, but you’re just average. Average is still good, in a sense. You basically control of all sports, so no matter how much I, like others try to stay away, I can’t.

That being said, it’s hard for me to watch some of your programs. It’s sad because if you proclaim yourself to be “The Worldwide Leader in Sports,” then your obvious bias and objections shouldn’t be said nor thrown around all the time. That’s not being the “Worldwide Leader,” that’s being a dictator.

What’s sad about this is that when I was younger, I always wanted to work for ESPN because at the time, it was cool, seemed exciting, and if you studied about sports like I’ve been doing since I was born, it’d be extremely awesome to be on that type of pedestal.

Now, it just seems like instead of being credible, you want to be the TMZ of sports. I know, I know. If I don’t like it, why talk about it, watch it, or write about it. Well, like I said above, You controls every single sport with the exception of the Major League Baseball playoffs, and the National Hockey League. Sure, it’s my fault for not turning away, but in a sports world where things are controlled by one place, where the hell am I gonna go watch highlights or games?

My dude Kyle, (@Madsports8) has said that ESPN has become a place where it’s all casual sports stories. It’s funny how accurate he was stating this. Now, I’m not here to bash you. But, at the same time, everyone is tired about hearing the same recycled stories on Sportscenter. I mean, it’s one thing to like an athlete. We all like certain athletes. But at the same time, there comes a point where you have to get off their jock.

Don’t get me wrong here. There are things that I LOVE on ESPN. The 30 for 30 series is awesome. Pardon the Interruption is awesome. Baseball Tonight is awesome. College Gameday is awesome. But, your love affair with Tim Tebow is downright awful, and it’s a shame. Quite Frankly (No Stephen A.), I’m FED UP.

I mean,  I get it. Tebow is a one of a kind. Christian boy who went to Florida. With Urban Meyer, he won a National title even though you claim he’s won two (He was on the team who did win in 2006, but Chris Leak was the starting quarterback, and honestly, was legit that year). Not to mention, he won the Heisman Trophy in 2007. Which is exclusive, and awesome.

But ever since he’s been in the NFL, he’s the MAIN story and has analysts on his jock 24/7.  Think about it. Most guys are celebrated in sports for being good. Tim Tebow is a glorified bad quarterback who has a popular fanbase. Great person, great human being. In fact, if he wanted to ever preach at a church, I’d be down to go see him. But man, eventually, you’re gonna lose a lot of viewers and followers if you talk about him, or even tweet about him.

Put it like this. In my eyes, your network and company is so upset that Mark Sanchez  is the starting quarterback for the New York Jets. In fact, Tim Tebow HURTS the New York Jets offense more than helps it. But since ESPN has become casual, they want to start controversy and drama when there really isn’t any drama. As a New York Jet fan myself, I’m done with it. When will you learn ESPN?

Ever since Skip Bayless has made himself the “leader” of the Tim Tebow bandwagon, all we’ve heard is about Tebow, and all he does is “win.” Win what, Skip? Last year, Denver backed their ways in the playoffs, took advantage of a Pittsburgh team who was banged up, won because their defense kept Mr. Bathroom off the board long enough. Sure, Tebow threw one great pass to Demaryius Thomas, but yeah, Skip, you’re “all he does is win” movement needed to include Denver’s defense balling up. What about that playoff game against New England where he wet the bed? I don’t think all he did was win there.

The excuses for Tebow that Bayless has is sickening. I understand that Skip is a troll, but it’s outrageous now. Skip Bayless used to be a credible journalist, especially back in the 90’s. But he’s sold himself out for money and his journalistic integrity for one guy. It’s hilarious how Skip worships one of the worst quarterbacks on television and can get viewers to agree with him.  Seriously speaking, First Take might be the worst show on television. Watching First Take is like listening to Dwayne Carter rap horrible bars on a mixtape. Can’t. Do. It.

how ironic

You should be embarrassed about how you conducted yourselves last night on Twitter and in the booth during the Jets/Texans game. Every time Mark Sanchez threw an incomplete pass, or better yet, had two passes tipped that were picked, you had people tweeting, “Is it Tebow Time?” You think I’m kidding?  Look at this.

My god smfh

incredible

……………………

LMAOOOO SMH

I see

Just look at that.

The last one actually made my night. Mark Sanchez, the starting quarterback for the team cheers for the Joe McKnight kickoff return for touchdown, but according to a person who works for you, he can’t. It’s because he didn’t cheer like Tim Tebow. You know. Put both arms up, yell something, then pump your fists up after one 10 yard run. Yeah, okay.

That’s just the start. Mike Tirico wanted Tebow to play SOOOOOOOOOOOOO bad. Especially the last play of the game, it was all like, “Why isn’t Tebow in, he can throw it at least 65 yards, and he’s the best athlete on the team.”

I don’t get it. I don’t get how a 4th string quarterback can get so much attention because he throws bounce passes to the turf, attempts to run people over, and is basically used as a gimmick. You  ran segments this summer  about how Tim Tebow was on the punt team. The coverage for one player is straight up embarrassing.

Put it like this, ESPN. You talked about Tim Tebow all last week on Sportscenter on if “he’s the guy” to start for the Jets. Had all of those segments, attempting to create controversy within one football team. No, I’m not excusing Mark Sanchez and his poor play against the San Francisco 49ers. But at the same time, Tim Tebow can do no better on the New York Jets.

You wanna be credible again ESPN? Talk about things other than Tim Tebow. We’re in the postseason for baseball, and yet you spend 5-10 minutes talking about that. College Football is heating up, and even though you’re so worried about the SEC, the race for the National title is legit, and wide open. Plus, the NBA is coming back in less than a month. But yet, instead of talking about these things, you spend so much time focusing on a backup quarterback and a punt protector to create controversy.

ESPN, I hate to tell you, but you’re losing the race, big time. It’s too bad that nobody can challenge your monopoly you’re holding on the sports world because eventually, you’re gonna lose every single viewer because of your lack of credibility.

Become credible again. Stop trying to be TMZ, and bring sports back for the people.

Sincerely, a sports fan

Shaun

One thought on “I’m fed up ESPN.

  1. Pingback: Opinionated: Magic Johnson Needs to Shut Up « Writing, I do that.

Leave a Reply

